Online Sports Betting Laws in the US

online betting

The list of legal states for online betting on sports continues to grow. While many states have chosen to implement a multi-operator system, others have decided to stick with a single operator. The Rhode Island lottery, for instance, oversees online sports betting through the William Hill/IGT platform. The Oregon lottery, however, only offers betting through the Scoreboard mobile app. Similarly, the New Hampshire lottery offers sports betting and has partnered with DraftKings to offer mobile betting.

In August 2018, Iowa legalized sports betting, and multiple sportsbook apps began taking bets. Starting in January 2021, mobile users can register for sportsbooks in Iowa without having to visit a brick-and-mortar location. Until then, residents of the state could only register at the state lottery’s sportsbook in person. PointsBet and DraftKings are among the live operators in the state.

Since the legalization of sports betting in neighboring states, New York has been losing out on a huge potential source of revenue. If New York state’s sports betting industry fails to expand in its own borders, potential bettors may turn to illegal offshore sports books to place their bets. On the other hand, New Jersey and Pennsylvania have jumped in and are considering legalizing sports betting in their states. Despite these issues, the New York legislature recently approved a $212 billion state budget for 2021. The budget also includes a plan for online betting in the state. The proposal closely resembles the vision for online betting in the state promoted by former Governor Cuomo during negotiations.

In December, New Hampshire legalized online sports betting and DraftKings. The state’s constitution prohibits in-person sports betting but approved the expansion of online sports betting in November 2020. The state’s voters approved online sports betting in November 2020. The state’s Sports Wagering Application Review Commission aims to license the first online providers before the 2022 NFL season.